7 Ways to Not Lose Yourself in Business:

Its is so exciting to be a Business Owner. In fact, excitement can easily turn into obsession with Business or lead to the Business taking over your life and ultimately leading to you losing yourself in the Business.

Furthermore, I completely understand that when you create your own paycheck , it’s very difficult to tell a client or a potential customer, that you’re off the clock and lets talk Monday morning, because you are afraid that you just might lose a client.

As Business Owners, we tend to always have our mind on Business: we carry Business cards with us all the time, we turn our cars into business workshops as we drive and listen to Business CD’s, we tend to talk about Business all the time and most of our friends are Business Owners.

Did I just describe you? If so, you could be at risk of losing yourself in your Business, if you haven’t already done so.

When I realized I lost myself in my Business…

Recently I was doing some shopping for my Business and as I began to browse magazines, I began to look for Business Magazines. (Then I heard  a whisper from God): “You have lost yourself in your Business.”

That was truly a divine moment for me! In fact, it was truth; I knew I had lost myself in the Business.

After 15 years of Being in Business, it had become a ritual for me to read Business Books all the time. I was guilty of checking email 7 days a week and simply not establishing my Business & Personal Life boundaries.

However, the end result for me was this: I lost myself and I found Shiketa again while I was shopping for the Business!

In fact, while I walked through the store, I decided it was time for a change. I vowed to buy more books or magazines to help me to develop my best self!

So I put down the Business Magazine and Bought a Fashion Magazine. That fashion magazine inspired me to pamper myself more, makeover my wardrobe and choose bolder lip stick colors. Looks like I’ll be going on a Shopping spree for “me” soon!!

I am in no way suggesting that you not buy Business Books to improve your business skills. In fact, reading Business Books have empowered me to become a Successful Business Owner.

However, there comes a time when you have to do some major reflecting on your Business Journey; because, when you are not your best self; it will impact your productivity as a Business Owner!

What I know for sure…

Your Business does not define who you are. In fact, you must always be in touch with your true self in order to grow as a Business Owner. When you are your true self, you will enjoy your Business Journey. So be sure to Establish your boundaries and Live your life!

Today I am going to share with you 7 ways to not lose yourself in Business:

1. Establish set Business Hours (Based on Customer needs as well). Ex. I only work on Saturdays (once a month), if I am teaching a class or hosting a workshop or making some improvements in my Child Care Center.

2. Plan time for play. Work hard, then you play hard. Host a party at your home, Plan some family vacations, have lots of fun on the weekends with your family,etc.

3. Unplug from your Business email at a set time and shut down the cell phone during family time.

4. Don’t bring business issues to the Dinner table or in the bedroom unless its Good News!

5. Pamper You! At least once a week, reward yourself for your hard work. (get a new hair style, get your nails done, go shopping, spa, etc)

6. Don’t take it personal. A sure sign that you have lost yourself in your Business:  personal issues, begin to affect how you feel about yourself.

7. Balance your Business & Your Personal Life. If you spend more time on Business, than planning for your personal life, You’re out of Balance.

Have you lost yourself in your Business? What will you do to find yourself again? Leave your comment below:

To Your Success,

Shiketa

Author: Shiketa Morgan Blog

Wife, Mom, Inspired Business owner & Mentor, Self Published Author and blogger.

2 thoughts on “7 Ways to Not Lose Yourself in Business:”

Leave a Reply

